WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
San Diego
15
New York
14
WK
2
Fri, Dec 9
22:00:00
Saskatchewan
San Diego
WK
5
Fri, Dec 30
21:00:00
San Diego
Calgary
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
22:00:00
Vancouver
San Diego
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
21:00:00
San Diego
Calgary
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
21:00:00
San Diego
Colorado
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
22:00:00
Panther City
San Diego
WK
12
Fri, Feb 17
22:00:00
Saskatchewan
San Diego
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
16:00:00
Las Vegas
San Diego
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
20:30:00
San Diego
Saskatchewan
WK
16
Fri, Mar 17
22:00:00
San Diego
Vancouver
WK
17
Fri, Mar 24
20:30:00
San Diego
Panther City
Sat, Mar 25
22:00:00
Buffalo
San Diego
WK
18
Fri, Mar 31
22:00:00
Calgary
San Diego
WK
19
Sat, Apr 8
22:30:00
San Diego
Las Vegas
WK
20
Fri, Apr 14
21:00:00
San Diego
Colorado
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
22:00:00
Las Vegas
San Diego
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
22:00:00
Colorado
San Diego
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Press Release

CATHEDRAL CATHOLIC ALUM DRAFTED BY HOMETOWN SEALS

SAN DIEGO – Draft nights are annual celebrations where dreams come true. Tonight was exactly that for Reed Rezanka, a Cathedral Catholic High School alumnus who was selected by his hometown team, the San Diego Seals, in the fifth round of the 2021 NLL Entry Draft.

“This is crazy, a dream come true,” said Rezanka. “I’m so pumped and thankful for this opportunity. I can’t wait to get out there. I’m going to be ready for training camp.”

Rezanka was a standout defenseman while playing on the San Diego Royals team that took home the National Collegiate Box Series national championship earlier this month.

Prior to selecting Rezanka, the Seals picked seven others, including three first rounders.

“We couldn’t be happier with how the draft went down,” said General Manager and Head Coach Patrick Merrill. “We addressed our needs and made some moves. The countdown to training camp is on and we’re pumped.”

With the fifth overall pick in the draft, the Seals selected transition player Mike McCannell from Stony Brook University. McCannell was the most highly-regarded defenseman in the draft. The Orangeville, Ontario native has registered 98 points in 49 games for the Seawolves.

The Seals made their first move of the night when they traded their 2022 first round pick to the Georgia Swarm in exchange for the ninth overall pick in this year’s draft. The Seals used the pick on Patrick Shoemay (Rochester Institute of Technology), a 6-4, 210-pound defenseman known for his tough, gritty style of play.

Just four picks later, San Diego made a splash, sending left-handed forward Connor Fields to Buffalo in exchange for the 13th overall pick and a 2022 second rounder. The Seals added offensive depth at 13 with the selection of right-handed forward Jacob Dunbar from Port Coquitlam, British Columbia. Dunbar notched 38 points in only eight games this past year for the Saints.

Below is the complete list of draftees:

Round Overall Name Position College/Club
1 5 Mike McCannell T Stony Brook
1 9 Patrick Shoemay D RIT
1 13 Jacob Dunbar F Port Coquitlam
2 23 Chris Origlieri G Orangeville
3 47 Jerry Staats D Syracuse
4 52 Garret Winter F Limestone
5 64 Jeff Trainor T UMass
5 67 Reed Rezanka D San Diego Royals
6 84 Teddy Leggett D Lehigh

 

For breaking news and updates, follow us on social @SealsLax. The Seals return to Pechanga Arena for Opening Night on December 3. Reserve your seats today at SealsLax.com.

San Diego Seals