WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
San Diego
15
New York
14
WK
2
Fri, Dec 9
FINAL/OT
Saskatchewan
12
San Diego
13
WK
5
Fri, Dec 30
FINAL
San Diego
17
Calgary
14
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Vancouver
11
San Diego
16
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
San Diego
10
Calgary
14
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
FINAL
San Diego
13
Colorado
9
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
22:00:00
Panther City
San Diego
WK
12
Fri, Feb 17
22:00:00
Saskatchewan
San Diego
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
16:30:00
Las Vegas
San Diego
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
20:30:00
San Diego
Saskatchewan
WK
16
Fri, Mar 17
22:00:00
San Diego
Vancouver
WK
17
Fri, Mar 24
20:30:00
San Diego
Panther City
Sat, Mar 25
22:00:00
Buffalo
San Diego
WK
18
Fri, Mar 31
22:00:00
Calgary
San Diego
WK
19
Sat, Apr 8
22:30:00
San Diego
Las Vegas
WK
20
Fri, Apr 14
21:00:00
San Diego
Colorado
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
22:00:00
Las Vegas
San Diego
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
22:00:00
Colorado
San Diego
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Press Release

Happy Birthday, Ben!

When most kids are taking their first steps and learning their first words at the age of one, Ben was being diagnosed with Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA), a form of muscular dystrophy.  SMA, often called ALS in babies, is a genetic motor neuron disease with no known cure.  SMA causes the nerve cells connecting the brain and spinal cord to the body’s muscles to break down over time. Given only six years to live, the Seals were honored to help Ben celebrate his 15th birthday.

As an early birthday surprise, newly announced General Manager and Head Coach Patrick Merrill knocked on Ben’s door to kick off the festivities. As the door opened, Ben smiled ear-to-ear as he made his way out to meet Patrick.

It didn’t take long to for Patrick to realize just how special Ben is. With his love for math and science, Ben is ranked in the top 1% in the country. He’s traveled to Beijing, where he competed at the World Math Team Championship and won the only gold medal awarded to the USA Junior Team.

Not only is he unbelievably smart, but his loving and determined nature radiates through every smile.

“I have always maintained a positive attitude,” said Ben. “It grounds me. Inspires me. Motivates me. And it empowers me to face the big challenges, and the small, no matter how daunting they may seem.”

Overcoming so much early in his life, Ben and his family continue to become stronger each and every day. Though the grind may sometimes be tough, Ben uses his resources to actively rise above his problems, seek solutions, and keep growing stronger and smarter, always with a smile on his face.

“Meeting Ben was the highlight of my trip,” said Patrick. “He is so inspiring, and I am honored to have met him.”

Quoting his theme song, Ben lives by the words, “Shoot me down, but I won’t fall, I am Titanium!”  That’s Ben.  He is Titanium!

Follow Ben and the Muscular Dystrophy Association on Instagram at @team.ben_ and @mda_usa!

San Diego Seals