Press Release

National Lacrosse League Pro Team Awarded to San Diego

SAN DIEGO – The National Lacrosse League (NLL), the largest professional indoor lacrosse league in the world, announced on Tuesday that it has awarded an expansion team to the city of San Diego. The team will begin play in the 31-year-old League in November 2018.

The team will play its home games at the historic Valley View Casino Center, San Diego’s leading destination for sporting events, family shows and live entertainment.

“Today is a truly monumental day for the National Lacrosse League and the city of San Diego,” said NLL commissioner Nick Sakiewicz. “This announcement is the culmination of months of work, and part of the five-year strategic plan to grow the sport of lacrosse through the thoughtful expansion of the NLL. This historic announcement brings the world’s best lacrosse players and a first-class sports entertainment experience to America’s Finest City. The League’s owners and I are thrilled to welcome San Diego as the 10th franchise in the National Lacrosse League.”

Founded in 1986, the NLL ranks third in average attendance in professional indoor sports worldwide, behind only the NBA and NHL. In 2017, the League’s average attendance was nearly 9,500 fans per game.

“We’re thrilled to bring professional lacrosse to San Diego and welcome the National Lacrosse League to its new home in Southern California,” said San Diego Mayor Kevin L. Faulconer. “San Diegans are among the most passionate sports fans you can find and they are going to love the action and excitement this new franchise is going to bring.”

The team is owned by Joe Tsai, a 53-year-old businessman who played college lacrosse.

“I have a strong passion for lacrosse, and look forward to bringing the NLL to San Diego,” said Tsai. “Our team is committed to creating a fan-first experience and to being an integral part of the local community.”

This fall, the team name, logo and brand will be unveiled at a special event.

Season ticket membership deposits are now being accepted for just $50. Lock in the best seats at the best price, and enjoy benefits reserved exclusively for season ticket members.

About the National Lacrosse League

The National Lacrosse League (NLL) is North America’s premier professional indoor lacrosse league. Founded in 1986, the NLL ranks third in average attendance for pro indoor sports worldwide, behind only the NHL and NBA. The League is comprised of 10 franchises across the United States and Canada: Buffalo Bandits, Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Georgia Swarm, New England Black Wolves, Rochester Knighthawks, San Diego NLL, Saskatchewan Rush, Toronto Rock and Vancouver Stealth. The 2017-18 NLL season, commemorating the League’s 32nd year, begins in December. For more information, visit and find the NLL on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

San Diego Seals