WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
7:30 pm ET
Seals
Riptide
WK
2
Fri, Dec 9
10:00 pm ET
Rush
Seals
WK
5
Fri, Dec 30
9:00 pm ET
Seals
Roughnecks
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
10:00 pm ET
Warriors
Seals
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
9:00 pm ET
Seals
Roughnecks
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
9:00 pm ET
Seals
Mammoth
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
10:00 pm ET
Panther City
Seals
WK
12
Fri, Feb 17
10:00 pm ET
Rush
Seals
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
4:00 pm ET
Desert Dogs
Seals
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
8:30 pm ET
Seals
Rush
WK
16
Fri, Mar 17
10:00 pm ET
Seals
Warriors
WK
17
Fri, Mar 24
8:30 pm ET
Seals
Panther City
Sat, Mar 25
10:00 pm ET
Bandits
Seals
WK
18
Fri, Mar 31
10:00 pm ET
Roughnecks
Seals
WK
19
Sat, Apr 8
10:30 pm ET
Seals
Desert Dogs
WK
20
Fri, Apr 14
9:00 pm ET
Seals
Mammoth
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
10:00 pm ET
Desert Dogs
Seals
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
10:00 pm ET
Mammoth
Seals
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Press Release

San Diego Pro Lacrosse Team Named Seals

SAN DIEGO – In late-August, the National Lacrosse League awarded an expansion team to the city of San Diego. On Tuesday, the team announced its much-awaited identity at a press conference on the rooftop of La Jolla Cove Hotel and Suites overlooking the ocean in La Jolla, California.

The professional team, which will begin play at Valley View Casino Center in November 2018, will be known as the San Diego Seals.

“We wanted a name that was inherent to San Diego,” said team president Steve Govett. “The Seals name acknowledges the marine mammals that live along our coastline, and it pays tribute to the brave men and women who help keep us safe and protect our freedom.”

The team’s primary logo depicts a tenacious, yet welcoming seal face. The crown has three spikes, a representation of the trident of Poseidon, the Greek God of the Sea. The shield background provokes thoughts of the head of a lacrosse stick.

Four colors brilliantly define the mark: gold, purple, gray and black. The Seals will be the lone National Lacrosse League team with gold and purple included in their colors.

Poseidon’s crown – presumably made of one of the world’s most-precious metals – matches the color of the spectacular array of sunshine that graces America’s Finest City on a daily basis.

Purple, a color of royalty, is cast on the horizon of the Pacific Ocean at dusk. Lacrosse is a game invented by Native Americans. The Iroquois flag is a purple tone, and thus the Seals mark pays respect to those who call lacrosse ‘The Creator’s Game’.

The logo was commissioned by Adrenalin, Inc., a Denver-based full-service branding, marketing and design agency that has created logos for dozens of professional and collegiate teams.

“Team ownership and management came to Adrenalin with a clear vision that their new identity would be imaginative, confident and aggressive,” said Dan Price, principal and president of Adrenalin. “Throughout our extensive process of analysis and build, their input and energy led to a family of logos that will represent their team, the city of San Diego and the National Lacrosse League for years to come.”

The slogan – Surfacing Soon – will be used by the team until it begins play next November.

On Wednesday, the team will announce the ten winners of the Guess-the-Name Contest presented by the San Diego Union-Tribune at its new online home, SealsLax.com.

Season ticket membership deposits are now being accepted for just $50. Lock in the best seats at the best price, and enjoy benefits reserved exclusively for season ticket members.

San Diego Seals