Press Release


In preparation for the 2022 NLL Expansion Draft, the San Diego Seals have submitted their list of protected players to the National Lacrosse League. On July 7, the Las Vegas Desert Dogs, the league’s 15th franchise, will pick one player from each of the other 14 teams’ rosters who were left unprotected.

Per league Expansion Draft rules, the Seals protected 11 players, including maximums of one goalie and five forwards.

Protected Players

Forwards: Wesley Berg, Casey Jackson, Tre Leclaire, Mac O’Keefe, Austin Staats

Defensemen: Drew Belgrave, Eli Gobrecht, Cam Holding, Mike McCannell, Patrick Shoemay

Goalie: Chris Origlieri

Have any questions? Check out our FAQ’s.

For breaking news and updates, follow us on social @SealsLax. The San Diego Seals will return to Pechanga Arena for the 2022-23 NLL season in December. Reserve your seats today at

San Diego Seals