Press Release


(SAN DIEGO, CA – June 25, 2019) – In preparation for the 2019 Expansion Draft, the San Diego Seals have submitted their list of protected players to the National Lacrosse League. The two new NLL franchises, the New York Riptide and the Rochester Knighthawks, will pick one or two players from the Seals roster who were left unprotected in the Expansion Draft on Tuesday, July 9.

Per league expansion draft rules, the Seals protected 11 players, including maximums of one goalie and five forwards.

During the Expansion Draft, New York and Rochester will alternately choose players from the current 11 NLL teams. No team can lose more players than the number of new franchises – two.

Protected Players

Forwards: Kyle Buchanan, Connor Fields, Casey Jackson, Connor Kearnan, Austin Staats

Defensemen: Drew Belgrave, Cam Holding, Garrett McIntosh, Brodie Merrill, Adrian Sorichetti

Goalie: Frank Scigliano

The 2019-20 San Diego Seals season will begin play in December at Pechanga Arena San Diego. Place your season ticket membership deposit today at

San Diego Seals