WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
San Diego
15
New York
14
WK
2
Fri, Dec 9
22:00:00
Saskatchewan
San Diego
WK
5
Fri, Dec 30
21:00:00
San Diego
Calgary
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
22:00:00
Vancouver
San Diego
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
21:00:00
San Diego
Calgary
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
21:00:00
San Diego
Colorado
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
22:00:00
Panther City
San Diego
WK
12
Fri, Feb 17
22:00:00
Saskatchewan
San Diego
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
16:00:00
Las Vegas
San Diego
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
20:30:00
San Diego
Saskatchewan
WK
16
Fri, Mar 17
22:00:00
San Diego
Vancouver
WK
17
Fri, Mar 24
20:30:00
San Diego
Panther City
Sat, Mar 25
22:00:00
Buffalo
San Diego
WK
18
Fri, Mar 31
22:00:00
Calgary
San Diego
WK
19
Sat, Apr 8
22:30:00
San Diego
Las Vegas
WK
20
Fri, Apr 14
21:00:00
San Diego
Colorado
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
22:00:00
Las Vegas
San Diego
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
22:00:00
Colorado
San Diego
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Press Release

SEALS SELECT AUSTIN STAATS FIRST OVERALL

The San Diego Seals selected left-handed forward Austin Staats with the first overall pick in the 2018 National Lacrosse League Entry Draft on Tuesday.

“Being drafted by the San Diego Seals is a dream come true,” said Staats. “I have been looking forward to this day my whole life, and I am so excited to be a Seal.”

Staats, 20, has been described as a “man among boys” in Junior A play with Six Nations. In 2018, he netted 42 goals in 14 games. His 87 points led the team despite playing in less games than his fellow forwards.

“He is a generational talent,” said Seals general manager and head coach Patrick Merrill. “He has electrifying goal-scoring abilities and was the most NLL-ready player in the draft.”

Staats has familiarity with the Seals coaching staff, having played for Merrill and (Seals defensive coach) Bill Greer with Six Nations. In three years, Merrill led Staats and the Arrows to three straight finals appearances, capturing two championships.

“Being able to play for Coach Merrill again makes this even better,” continued Staats. “I look up to him and the rest of the coaching staff, and I can’t wait to get to San Diego and play my heart out for the fans and the city.”

The 6-foot, 200-pound lefty registered 102 goals and 156 points in 26 games in two seasons for the Onondaga Lazers (National Junior College Athletic Association). He was a two-time All-America selection and led the program to a pair of national titles.

“Austin has championship pedigree,” Merrill continued. “He has a high lacrosse IQ and is a perfect player to start a franchise with and build around.”

The youngster has already impressed at every level at which he’s competed, taking home MVP honors in the 2017 Minto Cup. The year prior, at age 18, Staats won the Mann Cup (Canada’s Senior A box lacrosse championships). Two months ago, the Six Nations, Ontario native was named to the All-World Team at the 2018 FIL World Lacrosse Championship.

-SealsLax.com-

San Diego Seals