Press Release


The San Diego Seals selected 13 players in the 2018 National Lacrosse League Entry Draft on Tuesday.

“We got the top guys on our draft board,” said Seals general manager and head coach Patrick Merrill. “We’re laying a solid foundation, and secured a core to build around. We addressed needs at all positions. We should have a very competitive training camp.”

The Seals used their number one pick on left-handed forward Austin Staats. Staats was a standout at Onondaga Community College (National Junior College Athletic Association), registering 102 goals and 156 points in 26 games for the Lazers. The 6-foot, 200-pound lefty also netted 42 goals in 14 games for the Six Nations Arrows (Junior A) in 2018.

The Seals then took a pair of Connors – Connor Fields and Connor Kearnan – with the 10th and 11th overall picks. Fields graduated second all-time in Division I history in career points (364). He was a three-time Tewaaraton Trophy nominee and an All-American at the University at Albany. Kearnan scored 180 points in 44 career games at Canisius College. The righty was named the MAAC Offensive Player of the Year in 2018.

Rylan Hartley was San Diego’s fourth (15th overall) selection. The goalie from Orangeville, Ontario was named the Ontario Junior A’s Most Valuable Player. He also won the Chris Sanderson Award as the Most Valuable Goalie, and was named a first-team all-star. The Seals then took Graydon Bradley out of Coquitlam with the 17th overall pick.

The Seals selected Derek Lloyd (Stony Brook), Connor Kelly (Maryland) and Jules Henningburg (Rutgers) in the third round, securing transitional and offensive power in the trio.

San Diego rounded out the draft with a variety of talent highlighted by defense and strength. Below is the complete draft list:

Round Overall Name Position College/Club
1 1 Austin Staats F Onondaga
1 10 Connor Fields F Albany
1 11 Connor Kearnan F Canisius
2 15 Rylan Hartley G Orangeville
2 17 Graydon Bradley T Coquitlam
3 27 Derek Lloyd T Stony Brook
3 33 Connor Kelly F Maryland
3 38 Jules Henningburg F Rutgers
4 41 Austin Divitcos F Rutgers
4 50 Zach Bryant D Robert Morris
4 52 Zac Christianson D Robert Morris
5 53 Sean Mayle D Denver
6 65 Jake Cook D Providence
San Diego Seals